Post 26: What Florence Gave Me

Today, while at work, I decided to listen to the new single from Florence and the Machine’s upcoming sophomore album called “What the Water Gave Me”. While listening to this song I came to the realization of how much she influences me to want to write and perform music. Then I started to realize, I really need to get on promoting myself better. No matter how hard I try it seems like I can’t get myself out there. So it’s time I remove myself from the computer screen and put myself out in the eye of the public. Literally. I don’t know what this means exactly but I will figure it out.

I need some really dedicated fans. Like, really dedicated. I can’t even get people to answer a simple poll. I’m looking at maybe open mic nights, karaoke, something like that. I don’t know. But it will happen and hopefully soon.

Also, while listening, I realized I’m not 100% in LOVE with my music. It’s so simple and quite. I need some punch, some noise, something other than a piano and vocals.

Where this is leading you, is that I’m not going to be releasing an album any time soon. Not until it feels right. I feel like this album is being too rushed even though it’s been almost 3 years coming. I really need to get myself out there before I go spending hundreds of dollars on something that I’m not so in love with.

I will still be releasing the Mental Breakdown EP but the date is going to be pushed back to November 15th. If this dissappoints you, sorry. You should’ve answered my poll (haha! thats a joke. but not really). I need support. And, while yes I have an average of 8-10 blog views a day, no one has even LISTENED to the I’m Unsure single let alone bothered to download it for FREE!

Now don’t worry for I will still regularly blog on my thoughts on tv shows and what not and maybe a stray song release here and there but it’s time for promotion.

I feel like I’m harping on everyone but I’m not trying to, honest. Thank you to absolutely EVERY SINGLE PERSON who has even stumbled upon my blog and taken time out of there day to read it. I just need more to make it in this business.

Leave a Reply

