42: I Forgot I Had A Blog… So Get Ready.

It’s been like what… 20 days since I posted anything… sorry. I forgot I had an obligation to. :/

I’ve been busy getting everything on track with school, becoming an Eagle Scout, and getting money from the government for college.

I’ve made some progress with the album though! I finished another song called “Tara”. Weird song, like I’m sure I’ve said before. I’m pretty sure that the song isn’t going to be on the album but it’ll see a release some day. Maybe another EP in the future. Who knows since Mental Breakdown didn’t really sell so hot. But it’s understandable. It was a mediocre effort. Tomorrow I plan on finishing my first song ever put out, “Be Free”. It’s grown. It’s better. It’s my favorite so far, next to “Take It Lightly” which I also tweaked yesterday (the vocals are now more hearable). Tomorrow I also hope to get a song that I haven’t even written lyrics to done. Its story:

I sat down at the piano and started playing around. The music sounded fun, recorded it quick and now I need to come up with a melody and lyrics. FUUN.

Now let’s talk some music releases!!!!

First: The Cranberries

I LOVE THE CRANBERRIES. My love of nineties music started with The Cranberries. Well, actually no. It didn’t but still they’re my favorite 90’s band.

Their album Roses comes out on Feb 27 and they’ve been all over TV performing their new song Tomorrow which is soooo catchy and fun to listen to and there’s so much truth. Dolores’ writing style is so… simple yet so deep and full of meaning and I just love her.

Second: The Ting Tings

The Ting Tings are another one of those bands that I knew before they got popular. Now, I don’t mean to sound pretentious or anything when I say that but seriously I have this weird jealousy when bands I know get popular.

Their second album: Sounds From Nowheresville leaked about a month ago and of course I downloaded it (it wasn’t stealing because I’ve already pre-ordered it from Amazon). I love it. I think they’ve grown from a “singles band” (a band that’s good for releasing a trillion singles from one album) to a really solid indie pop/rock album that can pretty much do anything with Katie Whites gorgeous voice. My personal favorites are Guggenheim and Hit Me Down Sonny. I was disappointed that they sped up Day to Day. They performed it a while back as a slow ballad type song, now it’s just kinda plain.

Third: Memoryhouse

From their small EP “The Years” I have a lot of hope for this band. They seem very versatile and I can’t wait to hear their debut album “The Slideshow Effect”.

Fourth: Sarah Jaffe

You guys. I almost crapped myself with excitement when I hear that Sarah Jaffe was going to be releasing her second album “The Body Wins” in april. Her first album and her EP are so good and I can’t wait to hear the new direction she’s going in for this album.

Fifth and Sixth and Seventh: Sleigh Bells and Civil Twilight, and Ladyhawke

I need to condense this, it’s getting long. Sleigh Bells is so noisy, I can’t get enough. They performed on SNL last night and while my mom hated it, I loved it. ❤ Alexis Krauss. Also, that IS the album cover. cute, huh?

Civil Twlight. The band that brought the song Letters From the Sky to just about every dramatic movie/show. I haven’t had time to listen to their debut album in full but the six or seven songs I have heard are fantastic. Their second album I’m excited for. I don’t know why. I just am.

Finally, I feel like a terrible person that I forgot about Ladyhawke… (This was an after thought).

Her second album Anxiety will be released in March and I CANNOT wait to hear it. The first single “Black, White & Blue” is so good. My mom calls it 60’s music. I don’t know why. Maybe it sounds like 60’s music. Also, the album cover is sooo cool. It’s her, but then if you look closely at her hair you’ll find little surprises.

p.s. I don’t have the rights to these photos and no copyright infringement is intended.

WOWOWOWOWOW. That was a lot. Hope that made up for my absence. The Amazing Race is on tonight. YES! Brenden and Rachel. TRAINWRECK.

Adios.

One thought on “42: I Forgot I Had A Blog… So Get Ready.

Leave a Reply

