55: 7 Songs Down, 5 To Go

WOWOWOWOWOWOW! I’m over halfway done with the album! YAY! I’ve got, as the title suggest, 7 songs completely done. Those songs are:

  1. Take It Lightly
  2. Be Free
  3. In The Sky
  4. Maybe I’m Broken
  5. Shadow
  6. Despite Them
  7. Congratulate You

The next song I’m going to work on is called “Those Times”. I already have the piano recorded, it’s just vocals that are needed! So that leaves 4 songs that I have to completely record which is pretty good I’d say. Once I have those 4 songs recorded on the piano (which should take about an hour and a half), I’m going to start working on small 6 song EP that I’ll release sometime during the winter. More details coming on that later down the line.

ALBUM REVIEW TIME!

I told you how excited I was for the release of Santigold’s “Master Of My Make-Believe” and seriously, I think the 4 year wait was worth it. The album is full of extremely catchy tunes like “The Riot’s Gone” which is my personal favorite and “The Keepers” which is a close second. But all the songs are good.

Second, Sarah Jaffe’s “The Body Wins” is not quite as good as her first album but the two aren’t really even comparable. “The Body Wins” has it’s brilliant moments like “Fangs”, “Hooray For Love”, “Halfway Right” and a few others but then everything just gets interrupted by “Foggy Field”. It just doesn’t fit.

END OF ALBUM REVIEW TIME.

Now the next release of an exciting album: “What We Saw From the Cheap Seats” by Regina Spektor! YAYAYA!

OH! OHMYGOD HOW COULD I FORGET! Amanda Palmer and the Grand Theft Orchestra. Yes. This album is going to be EPIC. I’ve been waiting, again, 4 years for a proper full length album by Amanda Palmer: the weirdest, and possibly most popular/least known woman in all of music. It’s odd. The woman raises over $450,000 in less than a week for her newest album via Kickstarter yet something stupid about Octomom makes the news. You can view her in her fabulosity right down there:

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/amandapalmer/amanda-palmer-the-new-record-art-book-and-tour/widget/video.html

If you feel so inclined you can go to Amanda’s kickstarter page and donate to her latest venture. I did. You should too. She’s an amazing artist.

Amanda’s Kickstarter

Leave a Reply

